VIVOTE – Election System of the Virgin Islands

Government of the Virgin Islands

Political Parties

Contact Information & Party Rules (Bylaws)

There are three established political parties in the Virgin Islands.

Democratic Party of the Virgin Islands

Mr. Stedmann Hodge, Jr.

Democratic State Chair

We, the Democrats of United States Virgin Islands, united in common purpose; hereby rededicate ourselves to the principles which have historically sustained the Democratic Party of the USA.

Recognizing the validity of our island’s political institutions has been the foundation of its enduring strength, we acknowledge that a political party which wishes to lead must listen to those it would lead, a party which asks for the people’s trust must prove that it trusts the people. And a party which hopes to call forth the best the Island can achieve must embody the best of the Islands’ heritage and traditions.

Republican Party of the Virgin Islands

The Republican Party of the Virgin Islands was founded in 1948 and was admitted to membership in the Republican National Committee in 1952. From that time on a close relationship has developed between the United States Virgin Islands and Washington, D.C.

PO. Box 295, Christiansted, VI 00821

Independent Citizens Movement of the Virgin Islands

The Independent Citizens Movement (ICM) is a political party in the U.S. Virgin Islands that was founded by Virdin C. Brown and Steve O’Reillyin 1968. Its symbol is the torch.

The party had its first political candidates in 1968, and it ran candidates again in 1970. An advertisement in The Virgin Islands Daily News on June 24, 1970 listed Fabian Martinez as the party’s president.